History Preserved – Kodak Super XX

 

Kodak Super XX Developed By Kodak

Kodak Super XX
Developed By Kodak

 

Preface

  I saw this roll of developed Kodak Super XX sitting at an antique store for three dollars.  As I said on my philosophy page,  “A photograph is one of the few evidence for anything or any moments ever existed, the way they visually did.” Instead of letting it sit in the store not knowing what’s going to happened with it, I decided to rescue it myself, I simply can not think of a better solution. Now I can show the world those moments in history, the whole roll without any omission, while most of us never knew those moments ever existed.

  Since a photograph does not have any narrative ability, and it only describe lights on surface. I am going to use my imagination to narrate on this roll of film, or you can jump right onto the photographs and use your own.

- Kodak Super XX is discontinued in 1958 , that should indicate that this roll of film ‘should’ have been taken before 1958, but after WWII.

- On the side is said Kodak Velox Paper, that would make it circa 1950s-60s.

- The film is fogged, so it was either stored in a hot location when he was using the film, or he used expired film, or he didn’t develop this roll a long time after he shot it.

- I believe the photo was photographed by a U.S. serviceman that served in Japan. And he finished the roll after he went home to America, somewhere cold and snows in the winter (I am leaning towards Michigan, where I purchased this roll of film, but that really doesn’t mean anything).

- Reader Dave Pointed out this is Yokohama Japan, You can see Jack and Queen towers, and Isezakicho shopping street.

 

The Photos

 

Since this roll is uncut, and I do not want to cut it, I had to ditch my Epson for the first time and scanned it creatively.

SAMSUNG

45 thoughts on “History Preserved – Kodak Super XX

    • What a nice surprised! When I was in the store I only unrolled it a little bit to make sure there are images on the film, I didn’t look that close to see what’s on it.

    • I never fully understand why negatives/photos, especially family photos ended up in thrift stores or antique stores. I feel very bad when that happened and I try my best saving those images from potentially going to the landfill.

      I will be rolling over in my grave if I find my family photos in stores years after I am gone.

  1. Hey, man. I write for DIYPhotography.net. Would you mind if I reposted a few of these pictures with links and credit to you? These pictures are incredible.

    Thanks for sharing them!

  2. You were correct to bring me back for a while! Splendid! And as always, it is not what you say it, but how you you say it. An experience enhanced. Thank you !

  3. Time engraved in silver. The deeper I go through the invention of photography,the more I get convinced that after discovery of Fire, Photography is the greatest invention..

  4. Few years ago, I got a very nice old open reel tape recorder, a Uher Reporter. So I started tu buy old used magnetic tapes reels at thrift stores. You can’t imagin what you can find on them ! People singing, kids reciting rigmaroles, music, noises…. the acoustic version of photography.

    • That’s very nice. I only collect vinyls I do not do reel to reels yet, but I don’t see the reels here for sale often. However I do find a machine the other day, but I didn’t have room for it. One of these days you should digitize your recordings and share with us!

      On that note, I once picked up an old handheld recorder that, apparently , was used by a doctor, the content was rather confusing and a bit scary.

  5. Nice find. Yokohama, Jack and Queen towers, Isezakicho shopping street (the sign over the street with the silk goods store); you can Google these for modern images of these locations (from the same vantage point)

  6. I’ve lost a lot of film in Gallup, NM, South Bend, IN, and Largo, FL. My heart is broken, cause the film was in boxes of pictures of family and friends I treasured. Lost everything in storage. Wish I hadn’t been so poor most of my life. That film had pictures I would’ve cherished, but I guess you can’t cry over spilt milk. God bless everyone.

    • I am so sorry that happens to you, truly.
      However it’s not too late to start photographic those memories TO COME once again, except this time vow to do your best to keep it!

      Whatever lost is lost however we can still capture and preserve tomorrow.

  7. This is a wonderful find. Despite the fogging, some of the photos are very moving. I’m especially fond of 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 13, and 18 (using the numbers that you assigned them). For some reason, I’m very taken with number 18 (the old man sitting and smoking). That is very touching.

    If the photographer had kept it up, he might be haled as another Vivian Maier.

  8. #11 with the overhead street sign is in Yokosuka, Japan on Blue Street. This is one block from the US Naval Base, Yokosuka. The building featured middle right still stands with an antique “watches” sign fixed on it along with the Kanji characters as shown in your photo. It’s amazing the building was spared since some new modern apartments/combined storefronts were just thrown up next to it and the regional trend is to tear down every building older than 25 years and start over (unless it’s an important cultural monument, like a Shinto shrine). This building also is at the entrance of Honcho-Chome or “The Honch”, a street filled with American bars known to be a bit seedy today. — American living in Yokosuka, Kanagawa, JP

I'd Love To Hear From You

