Developing 130 Film With D76

If you want me to develop 130 or other really odd size roll film, i’ll do it for $50 USD developed and scanned. It is labor intensive. 

  To develop a roll of 130 film (Verichrome Pan) i found in an old camera (Kodak 2C) from a garage sale, without a tank. Lets just say they stop making 130 in the 1961.

  I used a medium size empty butter Tupperware thing-a-mc-git.. Fill it 1/3 way with Straight D76, turn off the lights in the bathroom, and use the seesaw method. That was something else I tell you. Seesawing a roll of 50+ years old film in the D76 for about ~15 minutes ( Pushed it 2 stop), then, wash, then fix. It works, but its a total different experience, and very uncomfortable seeing i am sitting on the floor outside the bath tub.

  For the record, before I did it I was concern about the film being all curled out and would not stay in the developer, and won’t allow me to “seesaw it”. Found out that is not a problem at all. The film stays at the bottom pretty well with the developer pushing down on it and the film sticking to the side of the tub while its wet, of course not the emulsion side.

  Now you must wonder what is on the roll?! Sorry to disappoint you, The roll appeared to be heavily fogged due to its age and storage condition over the years. However, i can still tell all six frames are there. But, I cannot make out what I’m looking at. I think over the years it all turned into a random fuzz. Now that it is dried, upon further inspection. I found one usable frame so far, it is blurry with motion blur. When you develop a roll like that old, even one usable frame is a plus.

It resembles a front yard with a house at the background. It should be the first frame of the whole roll.

Example of non usable frames.

If I tell you to guess what this frame was, what would you say?
I say its a photo of a lake, with the trees at the back, and reflection of trees on the water. But Really, who knows.

  1 usable frames out of six. Could have been better, but its not completely lost. The seesaw method was truly something else, I can’t imagine doing that all day in a lab. It was a unique learning experience. And now i can relate. I heard back in the days war photographers develop photos on battlefield with their helmet. This must be similar to how it was done, if they use roll film.

P.S. I have plans to turn the Kodak 2C (the camera that shot these negatives)  into a 120 panoramic camera. Adjustable focus, T, B, 1/25, 1/50, 1/100, all fires, f7.7 – f45. Perfect candidate. Little extra light tights and figure out how i wanna put a 120 spool in there, and its essentially done.

4 thoughts on “Developing 130 Film With D76

I'd Love To Hear From You

