Minolta AF 50mm f1.7 Disassembly

Proceed at your own risk. I expect you to be mechanically inclined.

Minolta AF 50mm f1.7

Locate the 4 Philips screws at the back and open it. Nothing is hooked to the mount so you can just pull it out after its unscrewed.

Pull out the AF Screw in yellow and put it aside. Unscrew the 4 screws in red.


Right? Now unscrew the lens assembly out of the barrel / helicoid.

Thats what its going to look like. Now to get to where i want, I will unscrew the 3 screws holding the rear element.

I get to the element that i want to clean. And thats as far as I will go. Do not put touch the aperture blades with anything or oil.
I didn’t really try to figure out how to tear each elements apart, but if you got this far, shouldn’t be hard to figure out. Might have to go from the front.
Anyways, I am going to put everything back together.

 Set the focus to infinity, and your lens should screw all the way in, and that will be your infinity, put the stoppers/holders back on with the 4 screws.


For the newbies, the pieces in the 2 red circles are supposed to link together. That will be your aperture control.

Questions, leave me a comment or email me.

One thought on “Minolta AF 50mm f1.7 Disassembly

I'd Love To Hear From You